jump to navigation

Discovers Social Bookmarking May 15, 2007

Posted by Tim in Personal, Reviews, Science/Tech, Trends.
trackback

Ok, ok I’m a little late to the party. But for those of you unfamiliar with the concept, think Friendster except instead of sharing friends you share inane bookmarks.

Useful for me because I’ve been piling up a lot of bookmarks and need a place to organize them. Trying to decide between Del.icio.us and BlinkList atm.

Del.icio.us has a (much) larger userbase, useful for finding sites related to your interests. It was also acquired by Yahoo! recently so there’s no chance of it going under, and you can expect updates and features to come regularly.

I like BlinkList’s interface though – more personal. When you add a page to BlinkList, you don’t have to open a new window, and you can view the tags you already have. That’s a nice implementation of AJAX. It also lets you rate and “star” bookmarks so they stand out. If you’re looking for the Boleh spirit, MindValley, the company behind it, is partly based in Malaysia; could also be a reason why BlinkList feels faster for me. Drawback is the smaller userbase.

[Edit] If you want the stats, Del.icio.us has 1,000,000 US visitors and BlinkList about 200,000.

What’s impressive about both is they support Opera well. Kudos! What’s bad is that both don’t let you mass edit bookmarks to say, delete them or make them private. There are several other options that I didn’t try: Furl (ugly GUI), Magnolia (GUI too good, maybe if I had a better connection..), BlueDot (too MySpace-y), etc.

[Update] You can read a more detailed review here.

Surprisingly, Google Bookmarks is pretty lame.

[Update]I’ve settled on BlinkList. You can view my BlinkList here. I’ve also added it to the bottom of my sidebar.

On the subject of socializing, wth is wrong with the BN “bocor” clowns? You don’t need a PR agent to realize a simple, unconditional “sorry” is what’s needed here. Meanwhile, DAP and PKR are happily milking the issue for all it’s worth.

Comments»

1. Wilz - May 15, 2007

I’ll be waiting for the Google implementation, or until Google acquires one of them heh. I just started using Google Reader today. Best news aggregator there is imo. With a rss reader, I find the need of bookmarks dropping some. :)

2. Tim - May 15, 2007

Google Bookmarks is lame…

It’s not the same as a feed. I find it very useful for archiving static pages that I find interesting.

3. khailee - May 18, 2007

blinklist its hosted in the states, not msia tho…
but its still damn fast =P

thx for giving it a test run, hope u like it..

pohsi and myself at thecicak use it haha
http://www.blinklist.com/pohsi/
http://www.blinklist.com/khailee/

n i helped develop it.. support buatan malaysia! haha

not sure if its useful to u, but check out my sidebar n how blinklist autoupdates the thumbs etc…

btw if youre graduating soon, do consider mindvalley ;)

4. Tim - May 24, 2007

Actually, I first stumbled on Blinklist through Poh Si’s blog!


Leave a Reply

